Well, I’m jumping on the bandwagon by writing a blog. And I figured while I was climbing aboard, might as well make it two bandwagons by making it a green blog.

Who am I? I’m a big huge geek. Well, not big physically. But on a geekitude scale from 1-10, I’m most certainly a ten. I like to read and write, I like to sew, my favorite show is Little House on the Prairie and I’m a huge Laura Ingalls Wilder fangirl. How many twenty-somethings do you know who have visited nearly all of Laura’s home sites? Ding ding ding ding! (That’s the geek-dar ringing.)

My latest obsession is living greenly. It all started when I learned about cloth diapering. I have two kids, ages 2 ½ and 6 months, and I’d never even considered picking up a cloth diaper. “Pshaw!” I said to myself. “That’s too much work.” But then I figured out that, no, cloth diapering is not too much work. In fact, it’s much easier (not to mention cheaper!) than I had ever anticipated. And tossing a load of diapers in the washing machine is certainly easier than rushing out to The Evil Megastore at ten thirty at night in a panic because we’re out of size twos.

Of course, everything spiraled out of control after my purchase of prefolds, pockets, and covers. I soon found myself (gasp!) composting and recycling and even purchasing organic foods. Yes, it’s true. I truly was a woman on a downhill slope to Hippyville.

Did I mention that all this change took place in less than six weeks?

My husband was surely confused about all the change. I’d always been anal about not littering and picking up trash when I’d find it on the ground. But I’d never really given it much thought about what happens to the trash after I toss it in the bin. I mean, duh, everyone knows you are supposed to recycle. But I just didn’t do it. It seemed like too much trouble.

Then The Evil Megastore started placing recycling bins in their front entrance, and they were staring me in the face every time I pranced out of the store swinging my reusable bags with my smug “I’m greener than you!” attitude. So recycling it was. And reusing. And reducing! Wahoo! My three Rs!

Quite frankly, the reason I decided to start this blog is because I’m quite sure my family is all tired of hearing me talk about BPAs and sodium laureth sulfates and blah blah blah blah. So this way I can get it all out of my system, and the only people who have to hear it are the people who want to read it.

But the real problem was picking a name. Did you know that every single combination of “green” “hippy” “eco” and “environment” is taken? Yes, it’s true. The bandwagon is full to overflowing. Move over guys, I’m piling on!

