I know a lot of you were moved by the plastic article I linked to a few days ago. Of course, giving you that information and then not helping you find alternatives to your plastic isn’t really helpful, now, is it?

One of my readers gave me a very excellent tip (thank you!) for a way to store my food without plastics. She advised that I look at flea markets and second hand stores for old refrigerator boxes. I had no idea what she was talking about, so I used my good friend Google to help me figure it out. This is what I found.  Very cute, huh? I also found some new at reasonable prices:

I noticed when I was at my mother-in-law’s house the other day that she had flour in a large pickle jar. I hate pickles, so buying a jar and actually (gulp) eating them is out of the question. But I bet it’s possible to pick some up at garage sales, from restaurants, or schools. These large jars could hold all the flour, sugar, and oats you could ever want. (Make sure to keep some on hand when making bread. See previous entry.)

Plastics have long made great children’s tableware thanks to their (mostly) unbreakable nature. But now with the new information on Bisphenol A, I’m trying to wean myself off of them. Wesley actually manages very nicely with a ceramic plate and glass at the dinner table, although I’ve found that some sort of sippy cup is still a necessity around the house. We tried the Nuby No-Spill Sport Sipper because it’s supposedly made out of plastic that doesn’t leach BPA, but not only does it leak like crazy, it looks just like a baby bottle, which I don’t really like. I’ve heard wonderful things about Sigg and Foogo  so I plan to try them next. Foogo is my first choice, since I can get it at Target, and is made from stainless steel.

Toys are another great place to limit the amount of plastic coming into your house. I have found some beautiful and really fun looking wooden and organic cotton and wool toys at Magic Cabin, Fine Wooden Toys, Rosie Hippos, and Tiny Bird Organics. The prices truly aren’t that bad, either. And considering that each quality wooden toy costs more than the plastic variety, you won’t be able to purchase as much stuff for each birthday and holiday. And in my opinion, that is a very good thing! It’s amazing how fast toys can take over your home. But the best thing of all…silence, at least on the toy’s end. There is nothing I hate more than the loud electronic “BEEP BEEP VROOOM, VROOM, VROOOOOOOM” of battery-powered toys. I’d much rather hear the sweet little sounds my kids make as they power the toys themselves.

Of course, it’s near impossible to completely eliminate all plastic coming into your home, at least without making life rather uncomfortable for yourself. Shampoo, deodorant, makeup, soaps, toothbrushes…all of these come in some form of plastic packaging. And while these aren’t strictly necessary for survival, they are rather nice. I prefer to see my friends, not smell them from a distance, thank you very much. You could always go the extra mile and make your own shampoo and soaps, and store them in glass containers, but the amount of time it would take is rather prohibitive.

So I prefer to stick with the changes I can actually pull off easily and relatively cheaply. I can’t change the world, but I can change at least a small amount of what is in my house.

