I was called crunchy the other day. Now, I know a lot of people like this term, but it feels weird for me.

For those of you not “in the know,” Urban Dictionary defines crunchy as:

crunchy
Adjective. Used to describe persons who have adjusted or altered their lifestyle for environmental reasons. Crunchy persons tend to be politically strongly left-leaning and may be additionally but not exclusively categorized as vegetarians, vegans, eco-tarians, conservationists, environmentalists, neo-hippies, tree huggers, nature enthusiasts, etc.Also used to describe establishments where alternative foods and products are sold, i.e. natural food stores.

Modified derivative of granola.

crunchy
quasi/modern day hippie; tends to wear no shoes, spends much of time finding way out of woods after smoking excessive amounts of weed, preferred fragrance = patchouli
granola
An adjective used to describe people who are environmentally aware (flower child, tree-hugger), open-minded, left-winged, socially aware and active, queer or queer-positive, anti-oppressive/discriminatory (racial, sexual, gender, class, age, etc.) with an organic and natural emphasis on living, who will usually refrain from consuming or using anything containing animals and animal by-products (for health and/or environmental reasons), as well as limit consumption of what he or she does consume, as granola people are usually concerned about wasting resources. Usually buy only fair-trade goods and refrain from buying from large corporations, as most exploit the environment as well as their workers, which goes against granola core values. The choice of not removing body hair (see amazon) and drug use are not characteristics that define granola people, and people, regardless of granola status, may or may not partake in said activities. This definition is sometimes confused with hippy.

Okay, so there you have it. So it might kind of fit. Whatever. It still seems weird.

I assure you, patchouli gives me a headache, I do wear shoes, and all my habits are legal. I also shower, (on as regular a basis as two children will allow me to) I’m not a vegetarian, (yet) and I keep everything shaved that should be shaved.

So you can keep your crunchy label. You can call me a tree hugger. 🙂

