Do you think there is such thing as too much information?

I’m not talking about when Auntie Edna goes on and on (and on and on) about Uncle Albert’s bowel movements or when your co-worker goes into great detail about the corns on her feet.

No, that’s just good old fashioned TMI.

What I’m talking about is when you know too much about everything. I spend a lot of my free time reading about various subjects: organic foods, children’s vaccinations, recycling, the environment, etc. I now know so much that it makes me question every bite that goes into my mouth, every toy that Wesley plays with, and the very mattress that Alice sleeps upon.

Gone are the days when I can just toss any old toy to the kids to gnaw on, or allow the doctors to inject substances of unknown toxicity willy-nilly into my children’s bodies, or pop open a jar of Gerber green beans and feed them to the baby.

Every time I toss a yogurt carton into the trash (they are made of an plastic that cannot be recycled) I see it floating in the ocean, surrounded by curious sea creatures. When I see Alice lift a toy to her mouth to explore it, like all babies do, I picture lead-encrusted paint chipping off into her mouth. When Wesley eats a banana (currently the only food he’ll eat) I wonder if it’s covered in pesticides.

Do I know too much? Do I worry too much? Do I need to get a life?

Honestly, I don’t think so. There are some things I have control over and can change, at least in my own household. I don’t spend too much time worrying about the things that I can’t change, but they are always at the back of my mind.

I think if more people knew about some of these things, they would be absolutely horrified and there would be a major revolution.

Be sure to check out this site that can keep you up to date on the changes the government is trying to make that will affect everyone and the foods we eat. You can sign petitions that will go to your representatives and let them know how you feel on issues such as allowing factory farms to ignore clean air standards, approving food from cloned animals, and allowing genetically modified foods. Signing a few petitions on matters that you feel strongly about is just a small way of making changes, but it’s a good start.

