I have made the most delicious granola ever! I thought I’d share my recipe. It took me a few tries to get it just perfect, but I’ve now got it down. Most of the recipe came from the Better Homes and Gardens Baking Book, but I’ve changed a few things.

 You can basically do whatever you want to granola to make it your own. If you don’t have an ingredient, skip it. The only absolutely necessary ones are the oats, honey, sugar, butter, and some type of flour. The only optional ingredient I use is the ground flax seed, because I don’t like the other things.

2 1/2 cup oats
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
1/8 cup flour (all purpose, wheat flour, wheat germ)

Optional ingredients:
1/8 cup raisins
2 T ground flax seed 
1/8 cup nuts
1/8 cup shelled sunflower seeds
1/8 cup coconut
(If you choose all of the optional ingredients, add an extra tablespoon or two of honey)

Preheat oven to 300. Lightly grease cooking sheet, and toast oats (and sunflower seeds, nuts, flax seed, and coconut) in oven for 20 minutes. In small saucepan, heat butter, brown sugar, and honey until butter melts. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.

Raise oven to 350. Mix flour in with oats. Stir in brown sugar mixture until well coated. Bake for 5 minutes, then stir. If adding raisins, do it now. Bake additional 5 minutes. Spread onto wax paper and allow to cool completely.

Delicious with milk, yogurt, or just on it’s own! It goes really fast around our house, so I’m going to have to start making a double batch.

