I spent last night getting started on the contents of the kids’ Easter baskets.

Usually, preparing for Easter involves running to The Evil Megastore the day before the holiday, snatching up whatever plastic junk and gooey candy-filled treats haven’t already been purchased and stuffing them in a plastic-grass filled plastic bucket.

Not this year! This year, the kids are getting a very few small treats, all handmade by me. I’m making these little bunnies for both of my kids, and possibly my little niece and nephew if I can find the time, making homemade playdough for Wesley, and making cookies. These things will be put inside baskets that they already have, sans plastic grass. Maybe I’ll make some sweet potatoes for Alice, they are currently her favorites.

Of course, the chances of the bunnies actually looking anything like on the website are pretty slim. I’m okay with that. I can just blame it on the Easter Bunny. I mean, it has to be hard to run a sewing machine with those furry paws and giant feet, right?

Because Ryan has to work on Sunday, we’ll be celebrating Easter on Friday. So on Thursday, Wesley and I will dye the eggs. Rather than buying one of those egg dyeing kits like I usually do, we’re going to dye them with natural plant and spice dyes. I found the instructions on a blog I read, and I can’t wait to try it. We’ll probably only do a few of the colors, but I want to do lavender (with grape juice), orange (with carrots or yellow onion skins), red (with raspberries), and blue (with blueberries).

Our celebration will probably be pretty tame. We’ll give the kids their baskets after they wake up, and let them go outside and hunt eggs. (Well, Wesley will hunt eggs. Alice will probably drool and giggle. She’s funny like that.) My fingers are crossed that it won’t be raining. Last year Wesley had to hunt eggs on the kitchen floor. Not particularly challenging. Then in the evening we’re going to my mom’s house for dinner and another egg hunt.

So far, everyone has been very responsive to my request for no plastic-filled plastic baskets! Hurray!

Here’s the recipe for the homemade playdough that I found:

1 cup flour
1 cup water
1 tablespoon oil
1 tablespoon powdered alum
1/2 cup salt
2 tablespoon vanilla
food coloring

Mix all dry ingredients. Add oil and water. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until reaching the consistency of mashed potatoes. Remove from heat and add vanilla and food coloring. Divide into balls and work in color by kneading.

