So, I’ve been thinking even more about that teeny little dream house in the country. I guess that’s why it’s called an obession, huh?

I’ve found my perfect tiny little floorplan, here.

I love how the “master” bedroom is just exactly big enough for a bed. I think that’s a great idea, especially for us. Our current bedroom seems to be the catchall for every piece of junk that we don’t know what to do with. The more space we have, the more crap we pack in there.

Of course, I’d make a few small changes. As much as I love the idea of pioneering, I’m thinking that scrubbing clothes with a washboard would get old pretty quick, so I’d turn the back entryway into a mudroom with a washer and dryer. I’d also extend the loft over the entire living area, to give the kids more room and to not waste energy heating the ceiling.

I love the fact that we could probably do this tiny little 800 square foot house relatively cheaply, and we could make it as green as we wanted. One thing I’ve been eyeballing for awhile is a dual flush toilet. They basically have two flushes: one for…er, the first order of business and the other for…your other “duties.” So to speak. Okay, okay. Enough beating around the bush. There’s one flush for pee and the other for poop. They use way less water than the 1.6 gallons a typical toilet uses, and even though they sound like a novel new concept, they’ve been around in Europe and Australia and other places for quite some time. In fact, I read yesterday that it’s illegal in parts of Australia to do a new construction with a regular toilet.  Come on America, get with the program!

I’d also love to use green materials, or things that are being discarded from other houses. One man’s trash is a cheap woman’s treasure, you know.

Of course, there is just one hitch: where to put this dream house? I guess I’ll be scouring the papers and real estate websites, hoping to spot the trifecta: private, scenic, and above all, dirt cheap. Why, yes I live in a dream world, why do you ask?

