Yup, that would be me.

When I started this whole thing about a month ago, I had decided I would be a lacto-ovo vegetarian. That means that I would eat dairy and eggs, but no meat. Well, since then, I’ve been a lacto-ovo-meato vegetarian. That means, in plain English, I suck.

Yup, that’s right. I’ve had meat since I swore not to. Not a lot, maybe once or twice a week, which is still a vast improvement. However, every time I eat it I feel furtive and guilty.

My main reason for failure is that it is HARD to figure out what to eat for dinner in my house. Ryan, as I’ve mentioned before, is a major carnivore. If there isn’t meat on his plate, it’s not a meal. And since he does all the cooking in the house…well, lets just say eating peanut butter and jelly or a salad gets old really fast.

It’s also tough when we go to someone else’s house, or out to dinner, to find other options. We aren’t exactly surrounded by fine vegetarian options out here in the boonies, so when we eat at one of the several grease-pit options, it’s a choice between eating french fries and still being hungry, or getting the cheeseburger.

At least I’m not being a big vegetarian poser. I stopped calling myself a vegetarian after the first time I had a tenderloin. Which was about four days in. Whoops.

I’m still working on it, though. Eating less meat is a good start. Most smokers need a patch or gum to quit smoking. Apparently, I need a burger every so often to quit my habit.

