I’ve posted in the past how much water I waste, and how ashamed I am of it. Well, I’ve decided to take one small step towards reducing how much water I waste.

I found out today that it takes 18 cups of water before the kitchen sink runs hot. That’s well over a gallon of water, just running down the drain while I wait for it to become warm. I’m going to start using a large pitcher to catch all my extra water. I can use that water to fill cooking pots, the Brita water pitcher in the fridge, and a million and one other tiny water uses.  Heck, if I can’t think of a use for it, I can dump it in the back of the toilet, or add to the washing machine water.

 I won’t water any plants though; I’ve made my husband a solemn vow to stay far, far away from them. I’m a plant murderer.

 

