This is a question that was posed by an online friend of mine. And lately, it kind of seems like it is.

First we’ve got the biggies, that we’ve been hearing about for awhile: global warming, crazy high gas prices. We’ve got the tanking economy, with real estate prices in the pooper, the lousy exchange rate of the U.S. dollar. Now the food shortage. Sam’s Club and Costco are both putting a limit on how much rice people can buy. I look into my nearly bare cupboards and feel a little uneasy.

Now, I’m not panicking. I’m not rushing out with the shovel to dig a fallout shelter in the backyard. Yet.

But seriously, when is it going to end? Was I just oblivious as a kid or what? Was I just trotting around in the 80s, swinging my Strawberry Shortcake lunch pail in one hand and Cabbage Patch Doll in the other, completely unaware of things going on in the world? Because I do not remember the kind of natural disasters and money worries that we are seeing today.

Even in high school in the 90s, when I was slightly more cognizant of my surroundings, I don’t remember this kind of thing. Earthquakes in the Midwest, hurricanes nearly wiping out major cities, busy bridges collapsing…I just don’t remember any of it.

I’m sure a quick Googling would tell me all I need to know about what I missed when I was paying more attention to the cute boy in English class than I was to the morning news. But I’m not going to bother. I know that no matter what happened back then, all I need to worry about is what’s going on today. I have my kids to think about, and damn if I’m not worried about what’s happening to the entire world.

I don’t want to start hoarding food, because I’m afraid that we would be adding to the shortage. However, I do think that I’m going to keep at least a small stockpile of non-perishable food on hand. Not just in case all hell breaks loose and horrible things start happening (more earthquakes, terrorists attacks, George W. being re-re-elected to the presidency) but also for more mundane reasons: job loss, food price hikes, unexpected cravings of Spam and canned pears.  

In any case, by keeping food in stock, I’ll save trips to the grocery store. And that’s green, right?

