I feel like I should explain why I’ve not posted very often lately. You see, I’ve been doing something very important: watching “Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman.”

Yes, you read that right. I ordered season three through inter-library loan, and they gave me one week to watch all eight discs. That is twenty-nine hours of “Dr. Quinn” in seven days. Thirty-one hours if you count that I’ll have to watch one of the two-hour episodes twice so that I can listen to the commentary, too.

So far, I’m right on track for finishing it up exactly one day late. Hey, I can only watch so much television each day.

I love this show. I was ten years old when it first came out, and I can still remember watching it for the first time. My dad, who was also the one who introduced me to the “Little House on the Prairie” television series, insisted that I sit and watch “Dr. Quinn.” I was instantly hooked. It was canceled in 1998, and I’m still ticked off about it. I still haven’t even gotten over when they replacing old Colleen with new Colleen in the middle of season three. Sorry, Jessica Bowman, I got nothing against you. But you just aren’t Colleen.

There are so many things that I love about this show. First of all, it’s set during my favorite time period of American history: post Civil War, pre 1900s. Second, I get to see all kinds of cabin-y goodness. And third, Joe Lando as Sully. Need I say more? How about a picture? (There you go, Mom. That’s for you. Wink, wink.) Oh, and let’s not forget Hank the bartender.

So, yeah. I’ve been parked in front of the television for twenty-five hours now. Only six more to go. I guess it’s a good thing (good thing?) that I’m up four or five times a night with Alice. Gives me plenty of “Dr. Quinn” time.

