I had this idea in my head that after our massive garage sale, the clutter would magically be cut down and our house would be much more manageable. WRONG!!!

First off all, though we sold off a huge quantity of – to put it delicately – crap, there’s still so much left. And I can’t figure out how to get rid of it! We can’t find anyone in town right now that is currently accepting donations. We could have another sale, but it’s sooo much work. I could put it on Craig’s List, but that seems like a lot of bother, too. I’m seriously baffled that we can’t give our junk away for free. And really, some of it is really nice junk.

But even so, there’s still so much stuff left in my house and it’s making me crazy. Seriously, what family of four needs forty-seven bath towels? Why do we have two dozen baby blankets? And what the heck is with all of the cups and glasses?

Of course, you don’t even want to get me started on the number of toys we have left. On the second day of the garage sale we made all of the toys free. (Which really, since everything was a quarter the day before wasn’t that much of a mark-down.) But there are still so many toys in the house.

I want to pare down our stuff even more to only the things that we truly love, or really need. I also want to try really hard to buy only used things from now on, for the most part. I’ve seen some of the neatest vintage or gently used items at flea markets and antique stores, at super affordable prices. (And of course on Etsy!) And they just don’t make stuff like they used to. I’m still kicking myself for not picking up a set of seven HAND EMBROIDERED tea towels at a flea market for $20. Stupid, stupid, stupid! In fact, I might stop by today and see if they still happen to be there. My few meager dishtowels have definitely seen better days, and this is one of those things that I could actually use.

So here I am, wanting to get rid of all my stuff, and I want to buy more stuff. Go figure.

