Tap, tap, tap…is this thing on?

Yeah, so it’s been awhile, hasn’t it? Don’t worry, I’m still here! I got out of the blogging habit over the summer while there was so much to do, and then every time I thought about coming back I was at a loss of how to start!

But I’m back now. And I think it’s time to give an update of my greener life! Since my last post:

-I have not purchased a single roll of paper towels. It’s completely habit to simply grab a cloth towel to wipe a spill or a cloth napkin to have a snack. I haven’t even missed paper towels at all.

– I’m still cloth diapering. And…drum roll please…I only have one in diapers now! Yes, Wesley finally decided to be merciful to me. That means that I only have to wash diapers twice a week, rather than three times a week. Yay! However, it’s fracking cold outside. That means that I haven’t put clothes outside on the line to dry in ages. If I were really hardcore I’d go out there and hang the clothes even when it is eight degrees. And if I were smart, I’d just get an indoor drying rack. But…alas, I am neither. So I use the dryer.

– I nursed Alice until she self-weaned at sixteen months. This means that I never purchased a single bottle or can of formula for her. I’m not bragging. Well, okay, maybe just a little. But I am extremely proud of myself for that, since I only nursed Wesley for two weeks. And just think of all the money I saved!

– The kids both got a lot of really great quality toys for Christmas this year. A lot of books, puzzles, and wooden toys. My mom even hunted down some books from my childhood, such classics as Grover’s Own Alphabet and The Bunny Book.

– Most of the greener habits I started nearly a year ago are just that: habits. I hardly even notice that I’m doing them now. And I’m happy to report that it’s catching! My mom has been faithfully using her cloth shopping bags. In fact, last time I was at her house I needed a plastic bag to wrap a toxic diaper in, and she didn’t have any because it had been so long since she took a shopping bag from the store! Go Mom! (I have to admit, she’s better at remembering the bags than I am. That’s one habit I really need to work on.)

I’ll be back to post more later! Ryan and I are finally trying to decorate our house so it looks more grown up and put together and less “crap other people didn’t want.” Of course, we are doing this almost entirely by using crap other people didn’t want, but that’s neither here nor there.

