Although I am decorating my house and trying to make myself “love the one I got,” I still dream of one day owning my very own little house. I’ve been drooling over various pictures of cob houses that I’ve spotted all over the Internet and thought I’d share them with you here.

Cob is a mixture of clay, sand, water, earth, and straw, mashed up together to make a little loaf for building, which are then put together and used sort of like bricks. It’s also generally covered with plaster. It was a very common building material in England in the 1800s, and is somewhat similar to adobe.

And of course…talk about eco friendly! Seriously, what could be better than building with plain ol’ dirt?  

Note: If you spot your own picture here and would like credit for it, please leave a comment for me and I’ll be sure to give you credit. I’ve been swiping these from the ‘net for almost a year now and have lost track!

Cottage with traditional thatched roof.

Cottage with traditional thatched roof.

 

Look at these fabulous shelves and nooks, built in to the cob.

Look at these fabulous shelves and nooks, built in to the cob.

 

Can't you just imagine sleeping in this beautiful room? I love the barn-style door.

Can't you just imagine sleeping in this beautiful room? I love the barn-style door.

 

These stairs are sooo cool! And check out all the nooks and built in shelves everywhere.

These stairs are sooo cool! And check out all the nooks and built in shelves everywhere.

 

Could this door BE any cooler?

Could this door BE any cooler?

 

Yup. Still awesome.

Yup. Still awesome.

