The Little Green House has been seriously lacking in something, and it’s been bugging me lately. It took me awhile to figure out what it was, and it took a mention from some of my friends to help me realize what was missing: plants!

I had asked some on-line friends what I should do with my big bay window. All agreed that I needed curtains (which I’ve made and will show off soon!). Other than that, two suggestions were made, and I loved both.

Our living room

Our living room

The first suggestion was to fill the bay window with pillows and make it a window seat, an idea which I love love loved. Unfortunately though, the window is so high that idea was out, unless I planned to pole vault into it every time I wanted to have a seat.

The next suggestion was to fill the window with plants and greenery. Although I seriously loved this idea, the plant serial killer in me cringed at the thought of subjecting them to my care. I imagine ferns and daisies eyeing me with fear, as I walk towards them with my watering can. To them I probably look like Kathy Bates in Misery. Will I over water them? Under water? Or will I ignore them altogether as they wilt away to a dull brown?

But I’m going to give it a try. I probably won’t go all out, with a window full of plants, but surely I can handle two or three, right?

