Ryan has had a very nice Father’s Day so far, and the day isn’t over.

His day started with a fishing trip with his dad and the kids. Although they didn’t come home with any fish, no one was crying or bleeding when they came in the door so I consider that a successful fishing trip. (And of course, it was a very successful morning for me since I got to sleep in. Yay!)

Then it was off to work…in our own yard, that is. Yes, I’m sorry. Another gardening post. Get used to it.

The beginnings of my pumpkin patch.

It’s a beautiful day outside. Fluffy white clouds, hot sunshine…and a new pumpkin patch. It’s just to the west of our garden, and will be the comfortable home to my fairytale pumpkins. Yup, that’s a real thing. I chose them because I loved their colors and the deep ridges, and I hear they make decent pies, too. And, let’s face it, they just looked so Harry Potter-ish I just couldn’t help myself.

Tomatos

 

Honeydew melons

I just loved the way that little curly-que looked.

Another luffa gourd shot

I told you I loved those curly vines! Ryan just informed me that they don’t start out curly. They stretch their vines out until they grab something, then they start to curl to pull themselves in closer to their support fences.

A jalepeno, soaking up the sun.

 

Blackberries, awaiting their new home.

These are the blackberry starts from my grandma. We don’t know if we’ll be living here long enough to enjoy any blackberries from them, but if we aren’t, surely someone will enjoy the fruits of our labor. We planted them along a fence behind our garden.

Go little buddy! Polinate, polinate, polinate!

Our wonky watering method

And, last but not least, our backwoods hillbilly way of watering our garden. The spigot on our house stopped working, so we stick a hose through a window and fill the sink (the pot is there to stop the hose from popping up) and through the magic of gravity, we watered our new blackberry starts. This is definitely klassy, no?

Lucky for Ryan, there is more planned for this day than a disapointing fishing trip and work in the garden. We may go swimming this afternoon, and this evening there will be a fantastic dinner, with grilled steaks, mashed potatoes and gravy, steamed green beans, salad, and for dessert, cherry crisp.

